User Guide

Moodle

Moodle(Modular Object-Oriented Dynamic Learning Environment) is free learning support software which is available by class and is available anytime anywhere in online environment of the Internet.

Teachers can publish syllabus or lecture document, give assignments to students on Web, and evaluate them, carry out small tests such as multiple-choice question or description problem and can manage academic results.

Student can donwload lecture materials, answer quiz and submit assignments on Web.

In addition,by using bulletin board function, teacher and student can exchange opinions and communicate with each other.

  1. Open Moodle web site  
  2. Log in
  3. For Students
  4. For teachers

 

Starting Moodle

Start a browser (Internet Explore etc.), and then enter the URL below.
https://moodle.cc.sophia.ac.jp/

When you access Moodle from the ICT Office web site, click [Moodle]
on the left side of the window.



 

Log in

  1. Select [English(en)] from the list. Enter your username and password (the same one as you login to PCs in the PC rooms or Call rooms), then click [Login] button.
  2. After log in, information and the list of Teachers & Course Categories is displayed, then you can start to use Moodle. Follow the steps of  ‘Registration of Courses’.

 

For Students

Refer to “Moodle Manual for Students” to know how to use Moodle.
https://ccweb.cc.sophia.ac.jp/en/userguide/general/moodle-student-manual-web-en/

 

For Teachers

Movie & Online Manuals

Please refer to the moodle movie. (Only for faculty & staff members)

For more information, please log in to Moodle and refer to the teachers’s Manual.

* Technical staff supports you about how to use Moodle, such as making courses, at Editing Room (Kyozai-junbi sitsu) on Bldg.2 B2F.

Important Tips

Moodle courses are NOT connected to Loyola.

Students need to register the courses which they take on Moodle by themselves.
By default, all students includes who do not take your class can also register your Moodle course. If you want to allow only the students who take your class to register your course, you can set “enrolment key” on your course. 

How to Reuse a Moodle Course

Please do not reuse the course of the past year itself, but duplicate it using the Backup & Restore procedure. Renaming and reusing the course itself will cause problems in various ways. 

Hide courses of the past year that are no longer active.

Please “close an eye” from the list of the courses to hide them from students. 
See Chapter 4, 4.7 (go to the category of your name, click on the “Manage courses” button and close the eye icon) 
When a student unenroll a Moodle course, submitted assignments and other materials of him are no longer visible by the teacher. (After re-enrollment all records will be restored.) 
Therefore, we make it impossible for a student to unenroll courses except during the registration period. 
The old courses that remains “visible” after the class ends are eyesore for many students, so please “hide” courses that are no longer needed as soon as possible.